Injured on the Job in South Carolina? Here’s What You Should Do
Getting hurt on the job can have serious consequences for your finances and your future in general. South Carolina’s worker compensation administration (sometimes called workmans comp) can provide you with a lot of financial protection and peace of mind, but you need to know what to do following an injury to ensure your claim is processed and approved in order to start receiving those benefits as soon as possible.
But first, what is workmans comp and what benefits does it include? Workmans comp is a set of laws that were enacted to provide protection for both employees and employers in the event an employee is injured while on the job. Workmans comp benefits are provided by your employer through their workers compensation insurer.
Under South Carolina’s workers comp laws, workers who are injured while at work can receive benefits like reimbursement for immediate and long-term medical costs, compensation for lost wages during recovery, funeral costs in the event of a death, and other benefits.
If you’ve been injured on the job, the first thing you should do is report the accident and injuries to your employer so they have a record of it.
You have 90 days to report the incident, but it’s always a good idea to report it right away so the severity of any resulting injury doesn’t come into question. Depending on where you work, you may need to report the event to your boss or supervisor, a human resources person, a staff nurse or another person. It’s also a good idea to make your report in writing; you might consider sending a copy of the report to your supervisor via email so there’s a record of it being made.
Next, ask your supervisor to allow you to receive immediate medical treatment. Your employer may send you to a doctor of their choosing, or they may authorize you to go to your own doctor (again, getting that authorization in writing is important.) Remember, your employer’s workers compensation insurer is responsible for paying your bill, NOT your own medical insurance.
Once you’re at the doctor’s office, be sure to let the office staff and doctor know you’re there for a work-related injury. Provide a description of the accident and your injury and symptoms, and be as complete as possible, mentioning even the tiniest symptom to ensure you get all the benefits you deserve. Failing to mention an issue now means you probably won’t be compensated if you need care for that issue later.
Before leaving the doctor’s office, get a written report of any work restrictions the doctor orders as well as copies of any prescriptions and treatment recommendations. Make multiple copies of each for your records and so you can provide copies to your employer.
Finally, call the Law Offices of E. Lindsay Blanks and schedule a free consultation to discuss your case. Workers compensation cases can be complex, and many benefits wind up being limited or denied. As one of the state’s most experienced workers compensation lawyers, E. Lindsay Blanks offers clients the individualized attention they need to ensure their claim is properly handled. With more than 30 years’ experience, he understands the intricacies of the law as well as the claims and appeals process, so you can feel confident your rights will be protected.
Injured on the job–Call today.
If you’ve been injured on the job, call (843)863-1800 today and take the first step toward ensuring you get the compensation and other benefits you deserve.